Minutes of 2022 AGM



Meeting Details

Date	13 October 2022	Commencement Time	12:00pm (ACDT)	Venue	Virtual, via Zoom
Chair	Mark Gobbie			Minutes	E Pietsch

Attendees: Board	Mark Gobbie (Chair), David Bergmann, Deb Evans, Stephen Gray, Dan Hoefel, Ken Murphy	
Member Representatives/Proxies	Annalisa Contos (Atom Consulting), Nick Swain (AWQC & SA Water), William Buchanan (Barwon Water), David Sheehan (Coliban Water), Cynthia Joll (Curtin Uni), James Gong (Deakin Uni), Suzanne Froscio (DHHS SA), Greg Jackson (Dept Health Qld), Shay Xie (Eurofins), Abigail Morrow (Hunter Water), Julie Krake (Lower Murray Water), Grant Hose (Macquarie Uni), Judy Blackbeard (Melbourne Water), Rebekah Henry (Monash Uni), Cheryl Lim (NMI), Michael Bartkow (Seqwater), Li Gao (South East Water), Enzo Palombo (Swinburne Uni), Rebecca Baldwin (Sydney Water), Luc Richard (TasWater), Justin Brookes (University of Adelaide), Gilda Carvalho (UQ), Chris Chow (UniSA), Siva Sivakumar (UoW), Greg Leslie (UNSW), Mikel Duke (Victoria Uni), Anthony Bodycoat (Water Corporation), Nathanael Small (WSU), Asoka Jayaratne (Yarra Valley Water)	
Guests	Michael Thomas (Barwon Water), Sandra Henville (Water Corporation), Nick Crosbie (Melbourne Water), Marilyn Braine (UNSW), Carolyn Bellamy (WaterRA), Joel Voortman (WaterRA), Renee Samwell (WaterRA), Jessica Burgess (WaterRA), Karen Rouse (CEO), Michelle Pfitzner (Company Secretary), Ella Pietsch (WaterRA), Marty Hancock (WaterRA), Kathryn Nicholas (WaterRA), Marlene Hsu (WaterRA), Heather Lacey (WaterRA)	
Proxy forms and Apologies Received		
Absent	Tony Weber (Alluvium), Jim Kelly (Arris), Wenyan Wu (UoM), Adam Schmalz (Cairns Regional Council), Carsten Berberich (Central Highlands Water), Peter Renehan (CfAT), David Beale (CSIRO), Amy Dysart (DEPWS), Tracy Ward (NT Health), Suzie Sarkis (DHHS Vic), Mehdi Khiadani (ECU), Keith Baldry (SA EPA), Andrew Barton (Federation Uni), Harriet Whiley (Flinders Uni), Mike Chapman (GHD), Matthew David (GrapheneX), Kirsty Henry (GWW), Anne Roiko (Griffith Uni), Chris O'Neill (HydroNumerics), Ian Law (IBL), Una Ryan (Murdoch Uni), Wayne Beatty (Orange City Council), Elizabeth Gadd (Power & Water), Annette Davison (Risk Edge), Jane-Louise Lampard (USC), Anas Ghadouani (UWA), James Howey (Viridis), Fiona Smith (WaterNSW)	

Meeting commenced at 12:01pm ACDT

M Gobbie welcomed the members and guests to the WaterRA Member's meeting, acknowledged the traditional owners and custodians of Australia and paid respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.

The formal business of the Member's meeting commenced at 12:03pm

1. PRELIMINARIES

2. WELCOME

2.1. Opening of AGM

The Chair opened the AGM.

Minutes of 2022 AGM



3. GENERAL BUSINESS

3.1. Confirmation of Quorum

The Chair confirmed that the meeting had quorum. (64%)

3.2. Approval of Member's Meeting Minutes

The Members were asked to vote on approval of the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held via videoconference, 4 November 2021. Together with proxy votes already received, this resulted in 50% approval.

It was noted that 7 Members abstained from voting on this item.

RESOLVED:

THAT the Members APPROVE the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 4 November 2021.

CARRIED

3.3. Business arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

4. CHAIR UPDATE

The Chair presented an update on the strategy and governance of WaterRA during the last twelve months. The Chair acknowledged S Porter for his service as a Director.

The Chair advised the membership of the Director appointments resulting from the Director Election process in October 2022. D Bergmann (South East Water) and D Hoefel (AWQC, SA Water) were re-elected. The Chair also thanked G Penn for contributions to the RAAC as an independent member.

5. GENERAL BUSINESS

5.1. Corporate Financial Report

The Chair of the RAAC Committee presented for consideration the Director's Report, Financial Statements and the Auditor's Report for the year ending 30 June 2022. The RAAC Chair also provided an update on WaterRA activities highlighting the flexibility during the pandemic, ColoSSoS and the recent surpluses.

6. ORDINARY BUSINESS

M Gobbie and K Murphy left the meeting for agenda items 6.1 - 6.2

6.1. Independent Director Remuneration

The Company Secretary requested the Members to vote on the proposed Independent Director remuneration. Together with proxy votes already received, this resulted in 60% approval.

RESOLVED:

THAT the Independent Director on the WaterRA Board be entitled to a Directors' fee of \$13,700, plus an additional payment of \$2,500 per sub-committee they are a member of, payable for financial year 2022/23.

CARRIED

6.2. Independent Chair Remuneration

The Company Secretary requested the Members to vote on the proposed Incoming Independent Chair remuneration. Together with proxy votes already received, this resulted in 60% approval.

RESOLVED:

THAT the incoming Chairperson on the WaterRA Board be entitled to a Directors' fee of \$40,000 payable for the financial year 2022-2023.

CARRIED

Minutes of 2022 AGM



7. PRESENTATION OF THE NANCY MILLIS MEMORIAL PhD AWARD

Mariah Sampson from Deakin University was presented with the Nancy Millis Award for her PhD research into the impact of willow restoration on water quality and instream ecology.

8. COMPANY UPDATE

K Rouse presented an update on the company operations during the last twelve months, including WaterRA's digital transformation, involvement in CRCs and strategic focus on First Nations' perspectives.

9. CLOSE

M Gobbie thanked all members for attending and closed the meeting at 12:42pm ACDT.

Next Meeting:

WaterRA Annual General Meeting, October 2023 (TBC)